WHAT TO DO WHEN YOU ARE IN A CAR ACCIDENT
Car accidents happen every day and can happen to anyone. So, what steps should you take if you are in a car accident? Below, we have offer information provided by our Nashville criminal defense attorney.
Did you know that in Davidson County alone there is an average of 7,962 car accidents that result in injuries and an average of sixty-seven (67) fatal car accidents every year? According to the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security, Davidson County is ranked number one in overall crashes in all of Tennessee. Car accidents happen every day and can happen to anyone. So, what steps should you take if you are in a car accident?
What to do if you are involved in an accident
Under Tennessee law, if you are involved in an accident resulting in injury to or death of any person or damage to any vehicle then you must immediately stop the vehicle at the scene or as close to the scene as possible, give the driver’s name, address and the registration number of the vehicle the driver is driving. Also, you must give any person injured in the accident reasonable assistance, including taking them to the hospital or calling for an ambulance.
If you are in an accident, YOU MUST STOP! If you do not stop this is a violation of Tennessee law and is a Class A misdemeanor. Class A misdemeanors carry up to eleven (11) months and twenty-nine (29) days in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.00.
However, it gets worse. If you knew or should have reasonably known that a death resulted from the accident, and you did not stop, then this is a Class E felony. This type of felony is punishable with up to six (6) years in prison as well as a fine of up to $3,000.00. Not only will you be charged with a felony for leaving the scene but you will also be charged with vehicular assault, vehicular homicide or aggravated vehicular homicide. On top of all of this, you will also have your license revoked.
You must remain at the scene of an accident
Even if there is no damage or injuries you should still remain at the scene of the accident until an officer arrives. Why, you might ask?
Well, imagine this; A rear ends B. There is no damage to either car. Both A and B agree they will not call the police and A leaves the scene of the accident. B then decides that it is a better idea to call the police. B reports to the officer that A left the scene of the accident. Now, A can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor for leaving the scene of an accident and is facing eleven months and twenty-nine (29) days in jail. While this does not seem fair, it could happen.
Therefore, it is very important to NEVER LEAVE the scene of an accident until told to do so. It is always better to be safe than sorry!
Now, if you’re in an accident and riding in an Uber.. that’s a whole different story.
Is there is a topic that is particularly interesting to you? Tell us about it.
Topic Criteria & Submissions HERE
Are you interested in writing an article to be featured on COLLINS LEGAL | the blog? You’re in luck. We are accepting guest submissions.
Guest Submission Criteria & Instructions HERE
All information provided on this website is for general information purposes only and not intended as legal advice. Persons reading information found on this website should not act upon this information without seeking the advice of legal counsel. Said information on this website is not intended to create an attorney-client relationship. Receiving and/or viewing said information does not constitute an attorney-client relationship. Prior to acting on any legal information found on this website or otherwise, Collins Legal advises you to seek the advice of legal counsel.