About

vehicular Assault

charges, convictions & defenses

Tennessee state law takes Vehicular Assault convictions and Aggravated Vehicular Assault convictions seriously. These convictions carry severe punishments and life-altering consequences.

While jail time and state-required fines are steep, Class C and Class D felonies remain with you for a lifetime. Thus, it is paramount to hire the right attorney to defend these charges, keep the punishments to a minimum and prevent these convictions from being on your record. Collins Legal’s DUI defense team is well-versed in this field. We help our clients be part of the statistic that learns from their mistake and never reoffends. A better tomorrow is a safer tomorrow.

DUI Information Portal

Vehicular ASSAULT

IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO KNOW

Vehicular Assault: Motor vehicle accident causing serious bodily injury to another individual.

Vehicular Assault & DUI: When the cause of the accident resulting in the serious bodily injury stems from the use of drugs and/or alcohol.

Vehicular Assault: Class D Felony

→   Minimum jail time: 2 years

→   Maximum jail time: 12 years

*  Jail time is mandatory as set by Tennessee state law. 

→   Minimum fine: $5,000.00

*  Fines are mandatory as set by Tennessee state law. 

→   Minimum driver’s license suspension: Six years

→   Restricted driver’s license eligibility: At the court’s discretion 

*  Suspension minimums are mandatory as set by Tennessee state law.

Driver’s License Reinstatement Requirements

  1. All court costs must be paid in full.
  2. Proof of compliance with SR-22 [state-required car insurance].
  3. Proof of compliance with state-required Ignition Interlock Device.

 *  The Tennessee Department of Safety is the governing authority who determines when and if a driver’s license may be reinstated.

Our defense strategy is formulated based on the events, facts and evidence surrounding the accident and arrest. 

→   We look into the arresting officer’s conduct and determine if the said officer followed proper protocol. 

→   We look at whether the blood test and/or breath test were obtained in a constitutional manner.

→   We investigate the blood test and/or breath test results chain of custody.

→   More information about our Vehicular Assault Defense Strategies HERE.

DUI Defense quick links

Aggravated
Vehicular ASSAULT

IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO KNOW

Vehicular Assault: Motor vehicle accident causing serious bodily injury to another individual.

Aggravated Vehicular Assault & DUI: When the cause of the accident resulting in the injury stems from the use of drugs and/or alcohol and the individual has two other concurrent or prior convictions (including vehicular assault or vehicular homicide convictions) or had a .20% BAC at the time of arrest and has one prior DUI or vehicular assault conviction.

Aggravated Vehicular Assault: Class C Felony

→   Minimum jail time: 15 years

→   Maximum jail time: 60 years

*  Jail time is mandatory as set by Tennessee state law. 

→   Maximum fine: $50,000.00

*  Fines are mandatory as set by Tennessee state law.

→   Minimum driver’s license suspension: Six years

→   Restricted driver’s license eligibility: At the court’s discretion

*  Suspension minimums are mandatory as set by Tennessee state law.

Driver’s License Reinstatement Requirements

  1. All court costs must be paid in full.
  2. Proof of compliance with SR-22 [state-required car insurance].
  3. Proof of compliance with state-required Ignition Interlock Device.

 *  The Tennessee Department of Safety is the governing authority who determines when and if a driver’s license may be reinstated.

Our defense strategy is formulated based on the events, facts and evidence surrounding the accident and arrest. 

→   We look into the arresting officer’s conduct and determine if the said officer followed proper protocol. 

→   We look at whether the blood test and/or breath test were obtained in a constitutional manner.

→   We investigate the blood test and/or breath test results chain of custody.

→   More information about our Aggravated Vehicular Assault Defense Strategies HERE.

DUI Defense quick links

INTERESTED IN LEARNING MORE

Read about Collins Legal DUI defense representation.

Find more DUI & Criminal Defense information on the blog.

Interested in becoming a Collins Legal client? Learn more here.

what to expect

Being charged with a DUI is life-altering. It is a set-back that no one can afford to take lightly.

Collins Legal’s DUI defense team has two priorities for all DUI clients.

  1. Dispose of the charge.
  2. Give clients the confidence to move forward with life.

With a decade of experience, our DUI defense team knows the prosecutions’ arguments, the requisite procedures officers should follow, and the law. The lead DUI defense attorney served as a DUI prosecutor for five years – in two separate District Attorney’s offices. Under his leadership, the DUI defense team ensures Collins Legal’s DUI clients are well taken care of.

If you are interested in becoming a Collins Legal client, please see our New Client Information. We look forward to hearing from you soon.